I installed your plugin on one of my sites, and then decided to remove it. After it was removed, its effects are still being applied to my users. Even if they change settings manually, they seem to revert to what what saved with the plugin. Any insight on how to remove the modifications made by your plugin?
our plugin makes no modifications to the WordPress behavior – as soon as you deactivate, everything is back to normal, so users are able to edit the Screen Options. They are able to do so even when the plugin is on.
If the Screen Options are not saving properly, I guess some of you other plugins is breaking the core WordPress Screen Options saving AJAX code.
I don’t think you’re right. I have exactly the same problem as Douglas posted above.
I made my settings that I would clone to other users, activate the plugin and pushed the button. Wow amazing it worked out of the box and is a real timesaver. But…. a very big but…
I then decided there was one more option I would like to change but there is really no way to do so. Because everytime I change a screenoption it roles back as soon as I refreshed the page. So not even the admin options could be changed anymore.
So I deactivate the plugin but still no luck. Uninstalled it eventually and still no way to change any of the screenoptions!!!
So I take a look in the code of the plugin and found out that the clone was a permanent state with no role back.
Lucky me I had made a database backup just a few hours back so I was able to restore my database and everything was back to normal. pfiewwww you made me sweath hard and I don’t like a plugin that leaves settings behind after uninstalling.
So maybe it is time you dig in to the code and come up with a solution, because the concept of the plugin is very good, without doubt.
Hello Carmen and Douglas,
I tested your isses thoroughly.
1. Installed latest WP with users admin, editor1, editor2
2. Configured admin’s screen options
3. Installed FV Clone Screen Options plugin
4. Logged in with editor1 to see that he has the default screen options
4. Cloned admin’s screen options all around
5. editor1′s and editor2′s screen options are now the same as admin’s
6. Registered new account – editor3
7. Checked that editor3 has the new default screen options forced by FV Clone Screen Options
Carmen’s issue –
8. I changed something in Screen Options for admin – this setting was preserved, it wasn’t destroyed after page refresh
9. Changed some Screen Options for editor2 – working fine
10. Changed some Screen Options for editor3 – working fine
11. Cloned admin’s Screen Options with FV Clone Screen Options – works ok
So the plugin is not breaking changes to Screen Options.
Douglas’ issue –
12. I deactivated the plugin and was able to freely change Screen Options for editor2, editor3 and admin, so it works.
13. I registered new user called editor4. He had all the default WordPress Screen Options.
Carmen, I’m not sure what do you mean by “the clone was a permanent state with no role back”. The cloned Screen Options will remain in wp_usermeta after the plugin is deactivated, but they can be freely altered usign all the default WordPress Screen Options controls. We also hate when plugin leaves some irreversible changes. But the purpose of this plugin is
1. you build a new site, you want your users to see some nice pre-configured Screen Options right after logging in.
2. you want to adjust Screen Options for all of your existing users, because you know what you are doing, as that will remove their own custom Screen Options if they had any. If you want to apply your settings only for new users, there’s “Save for new users only” option when cloning.
Let us know what’s your opinion, as I think we aim for the same thing here – plugin which is simple to use, works with no extra installation steps and handles your WordPress without breaking any of the core processes or leaving some garbage.
Thank you for looking into this, but I must agree with Carmen. I have not used any other plugins that come close to working with this group of settings, and my problems started immediately after I installed your plugin. Some specific examples that I’ve noticed:
1) In my dashboard I have a few modules enabled. I tried to change the location of a module, and it reverts to the layout that was saved with your plugin when I navigate away and return.
2) When I saved settings using your plugin, my sidebar menu was in the collapsed state. Now, none of the users on my system can keep this menu expanded for more than two page reloads.
There are other areas, such as the post and page editors, where I am able to change screen options independently.
Thanks for the plugin – I am having similar issues as Carmen and Douglas.
I installed the plugin on a test site, decided it was ideal so installed it on a live site. Now I have deleted it from the test site but changes to my options are being ignored.
Very nice plugin idea but it needs to be removable too!